Interview with Nigerian Female Hitmaker Gee Jay

Born Gloria Johnson on 12/08/89, in Edo State, is a prolific Songwriter, singer and a recording artist. In 2016, she catapulted into prominence with her “Bank alert” Gospel version, , originally released by Nigerian popular duo P Square. The remix went viral all over the internet and finally fuelled the legendary duo P Square to feature Gee Jay, the Bank alert Gospel remix garnered rotational radio airplay, subsequently downloaded and streamed by over 68 million on internet streaming platform. Gee Jay had toured states and countries in Europe to perform “Bank alert” and successfully received hundreds of awards and media endorsement.

Majority of Nigerians knows who super star Gee Jay is, but for those music lovers and fans of Gee Jay ,wanting to know her more, we decided to host a one on one interview with Gee Jay.

Today we are hanging out with the P SQUAREBank alert remix crooner, professionally known as Gee Jay, welcome to our studio.

Thanks for having me,” Gee Jay replied.

Legendary Gee Jay, could you please tell our viewers your real names , nursery, primary (Educational background), (family background) where and when you were born?

My real name is Gloria Johnson, born on 12/08/89, originally from Edo state/Nigeria. I hail from the family of Mr and Mrs Alemoh. I attended Upper Niger River Basin and rural development authority staff school, both private nursery and primary school in minna Niger state , and later proceeded to Government Girls secondary school, located at airport road in Minna, i was passionate about fashion and dabbled into Hair styling academy and became a professional hairstylist in Abuja before relocating to Europe.

So, Gee Jay, how did you kick-start your music career professionally and where did all this inspiration come from?

I started my music career after P Square featured me on their official single titled “Bank alert”. They were thrilled by the gospel version (remix) I did for the song and I was officially featured on the gospel mix. I had been singing prior, for the passion and the fun as singing is one of my hobbies.

Before you started recording music professionally, what were your desires like? Did you know you will be this famous and become a household name that you are now?

Before I started music professionally, I had always wanted to be famous for something, but never knew what I was gonna be famous for. Since music is something that’s already in me, it made my desire of being famous come to pass in the swiftest way possible, I could never have imagined and I’m here now. I’m quite famous, through music. I would have thought it would be through acting movies o.

Let’s go deeper about your private status Gee Jay, are you married or Single? Educate us clearly on your today’s status.

I am in a relationship with someone, that’s all I can say for now. Keep watching my socials if you want more enlightenment on my love life.

We had listen to back to back hit songs from You, Gee Jay, you actually shocked me with more than one of your anthem songs titled “Bless me” “Langalanga” “E.D.O” and “Bank Alert (Gospel version) were P square featured you, that was another crazy big bomb, the songs have chatted on various platforms to peak #1st position and still counting. How did you meet P square for this massive Collaboration? Who searched for each other, You reached out or they reached out to You for collaborations?

Well… psquare reached out to me through some media outlets and I got to find out from those outlets and close friends, followed by a dm from them directly. I guess through the search for me, they got to know my social media handle and wrote to me. We took things to WhatsApp and that was it.

Congratulations again for all the numerous awards you have received, So far, tell us about your discography. How many Albums or EPs or singles do you have, and when were they released?

I honestly can’t count how many songs I have out there, maybe 10, 12, but as a blog you would have done your findings to know, bcos I can clearly see you know me😊

Are you signed to any record labels or you choose to be independent?

I am signed, yes. Name withheld.

If you would like to feature a male singer, who would you prefer to feature between Burner Boy, Asake, Kizz Daniel, Olamide, Davido, Wizkid or REMA?

Davido and Olamide

We would like to know about your upcoming gigs and album release if any this year 2023?

I can’t say anything is cooking for now, but let’s keep our fingers crossed. If anything comes from me, just take it. I’ll try my best to deliver in between.

Thanks for coming to Journal De La Musique Beninoise, any advice to all upcoming and established female singers? Before you go, kindly give us some orthographies. Is there any other information you will love to share with the public?

My advice is to be yourself from the day you decide what you want to do, bcos not being yourself from the beginning can make a lot of things go wrong and trigger acceptance from the people.

I for one started as if I’m an innocent little girl, because I was afraid that the real me was too wild to be accepted into the line of music I was dishing out then, but now I know better. So be yourself and secondly know what you really want to do, before you begin, bcos if you fail to plan, you plan to fail,

also be creative, don’t be boxed, think out of the box many percent of the time. Normal is boring if you don’t infuse it.

If you’re big on morality, you’re more likely to be poor, so weird it all out, let the world know you, let them see you in your full element.

Leave a comment