Things you don’t know about Nigerian legendary rap artist Decoo Jay

Journal De la Musique Beninose caught up with Nigeria next rated Afro-beats and prolific rap star “Normal life” Crooner popularly known as Decoo Jay. Recall, Okojie Daniel Collins professionally known by his stage name Decoo Jay catapulted to prominence in 2019 with his hit single, titled “Normal life” featuring heavyweight mainstream musicians such as Eriga and Magnito, . In 2019, he won Obaland Awards for Best indigenous Rapper of the Year, hosted by Obaland Magazine , subsequently garnered rotational airplay on Cool Fm, MTV Base, and Splash Fm and other international radio station such as Phoenix Fm who positively reviewed the song 80/100.

Below is an interview extract with the controversial indigenous Rap star

Decoo Jay (Nigerian rap artist)
Decoo Jay (Nigerian rap artist)

So well, we all know who super star Decoo Jay is, but for those foreigners who are willing to know him more, Decoo Jay , could you please tell our viewers your real names , nursery, primary (Educational background), (family background) where and when you were born?

Okay! My Name is Okojie Daniel Collins, born (December 29, 1997) I’m from Edo state! Born in Ilorin, Kwara state, i’m the second of 5 sibling, I attended Saint Joseph Nursery and Primary school from 2003-2008, then I proceeded to Oyun Baptist high school in 2008-2014, to finally gained admission in 2016-2021 to Ambrose Alli university where i studied Theatre & Media Arts and Holds a B.A degree.

Decoo Jay , how did you kick-start your music career professionally and where did all this inspiration come from?

Growing up, my dad used to listen to the likes of Legendary African China, Eedris Abdulkareem, Brenda Fassie, Bob Marley, Lucky Dube Yo know…. So I used to listen to different genres of music and I enjoyed those music

For me, I think the inspiration came majorly from listening to MI Abaga’s Album (MI 2) in 2010… I wanted to rap and sound like him… I mean, I could rap almost all songs on the album then!

Before you started recording music professionally, what were your desires like? Did you know you will be this famous and become a household name that you are now?

Before Music, I always thought I’d be a lawyer “Lol”. Well now, let’s just say I’m judging every case through my music.

Let’s go deeper about your private status Decco Jay, are you married or Single? Educate us clearly on your today’s status.

I’m married to music “lolz”, for now let’s leave it at that.

We had listen to back to back hit songs from You, Decoo Jay  , you actually shocked me with  one of your anthem songs titled  “Normal Life” “  featuring other music legends such as Erriga and Magnitos , that was another successful wild  bomb blast, the song have chatted on various platforms to peak #1st position and still counting. How did you meet these legends for this massive Collaboration, Who searched for each other, was it you who reached out or they reached out to You for collaborations?

Firstly, shoutout to Magnito and Erigga! When I recorded the song in 2019, I wanted to feature Creatives I know would do justice to the sound… no long talks, you’d agree Magnito and Erigga did their part😀.

Could you please tell us about your discography? How many Albums or EPs or singles do you have, and when were they released?

I currently have about 4 or 5 EPs… can’t really remember now
Singles!!! Well on digital platforms, you’d find over 30 or more singles I guess.

Are you signed to any record labels or you choose to be independent?

Currently I’m not signed to any label.

If you would like to feature a male singer, who would you prefer to feature between Burner Boy, Asake, Kizz Daniel, Olamide, Davido, Wizkid or REMA?

Haha! I’d love to have a song with all of them…. But firstly, let’s have one with Olamide Baddo!

We would like to know about your upcoming gigs and album release if any this year 2023?

Well for now I have an EP Out , still trying to promote it, y’all please stream any song that has the name DECOO JAY with it, probably yeah! Another single will be released before the end of the year 2023.

Thanks for coming to Journal De La Musique Beninoise, any advice to all upcoming and established male or female singers or any other helpful information you will love to share of public interest?

Well, to everyone, add 100 years to your current age! You probably won’t be alive by then so now that you are, please tryna leave an impact anywhere you go! Be Happy! Make people smile when you can! Just Live your life!

One comment

Leave a comment